Image

Healthy Lifestyle Part II

Hey again!

So remember in my last post on Healthy Lifestyle…? I was telling you about how I got my fitness regime and eating habits locked down, but then I kept falling off track and couldn’t maintain any kind of schedule?

Alright!

Well this time I’m going to tell you what you shouldn’t be doing if you want to succeed in being healthy FOR LIFE.

These are my NO-GO’s when it comes to trying to have a routine in place, whether that’s exercising more, eating better, or just trying to uncover any health issues you may have.


1. Doing too much too soon

Doing too much too soon will throw anyone off.

I get it, you’ve found all this new motivation and you want to be the absolute best you can be. You’ve been on #fitspo on Pinterest or Tumblr, you’ve bought the new workout gear, and you KNOW you can smash this.

So you start doing everything in your power to live your best life… all at once… and a few weeks later it all comes tumbling down.

Adjusting your lifestyle is a slow process. It takes time to create habits and routines that are in tune with you and your needs. Don’t rush this step, and try to take a more sensible approach.

2. Doing what my friends were doing
Just because it works for one doesn’t mean it works for another.

Consuming a high carb protein shake post-workout might help your friend stay super lean, and add on some muscle, but if your body doesn’t work like hers, that won’t have the same effect.

There is a little bit of trial and error that can come into figuring out what works best for you.

You need something that’s been somewhat customised to suit your body type, your goals, and any health conditions you may have.


3. Not giving myself balance

As I mentioned in my last post, I had bad balance.

I could go from doing my absolute best, and eating and training in a way that I thought was ‘perfect’, straight back to old habits!

Doing this over and over is not only bad for your body, but it’s mentally draining. I’d start thinking to myself, “Why is this so hard? I want to get lean, but why can’t I just stay on track with it??”

The reason why was because I hadn’t yet figured out the balance I needed between being healthy, and being HAPPY. Happiness is what will hold it all together.

4. AND!! Excusing myself
Excuses will throw out any hard work you’ve done and make you pick up all the pieces when you have to start again.

They’re draining!

I would always give myself excuses when I was hanging out with friends that it was fine to eat what they were eating and then punish myself ,in ways I won’t describe here, afterwards.

It was fine to go for drinks with my team because we’ve all had a stressful day and now we can hang out. And it’s fine to have a sixth drink and just keep hanging out because I don’t have anything to do at home.

Keep in mind this was years ago now, but at the time it felt like there was no way around this!! It felt like I was stuck in a continuous loop!

In my next post I’ll give you the answer to how I found balance in my lifestyle, and was able to not only find health, but also happiness in myself.

Speak soon
Xx

Caroline

Leave a Reply

